Dantimax based Preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
With some money I received for Christmas, I would like to upgrade from my Pioneer receiver to higher quality DIY components.

First I'm looking at getting a preamp so that when I build some amplifiers, I'll have a method of controlling them.

Being rather inexperienced with actually building any kits (I'm only a highschool student so I'm mainly limited to only reading about projects due to limited funds) I'm looking for some nice kits to get me where I want to go.

First off, I'm aiming for only 2 channel audio. I've decided my surround sound amp is a bit excessive for stereo.

Second, I love my remote control. I want to keep a remote in the system.

Third, I like having a graphical display of volume level.

So I'm looking at getting a kit from Dantimax, however I'm a little confused with what I need to get.

At the moment I think I need:

(1) ChipVol1 - no buffer
(1) Input 1
(1) Philips RU254 Remote
(1) LCD16x2RB
(1) 8.5 and 15V transformer

I know I need some type of control board, but I'm confused on this. I think I need the Control2 because it has the capability to control the LCD display, but I don't understand what the buttons or encoders are. If the buttons are button selectors for the channels like the Control1 board has, I want that, but what are the encoders?

Then, I need to find a power supply source. Am I correct in assuming I will need a Standby1 kit if I want a remote switch on?

This should be everything I need correct?

My last question is how does the relay powering work? If I were to build a gainclone at a later date and what to switch in through the preamp, how does this work? Is it a signal it sends to tell another power supply to wake up, or is it a switched outlet like some electronics have?

Joined 2004
Paid Member
LightwaveDude: