Audax Home Theater Kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking into building my first set of speakers. I want to use a kit because the crossover and box design is already accomplished.

Has anyone had any experience with this system. It seems like a good design to me, but i am just getting into speaker building. also i was looking at the subwoofer that is recommended with this system. Would I be better off sticking with it or going with something like the Vance series from Partsexpress. I there are systems that better than this one let me know. All feedback will be appricated.

BD

for the money, this is a great setup. sure, you can get setups with better components, but that's only half the battle. the setup was designed by Dr. D'Appolito, so it's a good bet that the rest of the system is designed extremely well. Vance Dickason's kit also seems quite good, though i haven't heard it.

still, you can get the parts for the entire setup except the sub for under $600 bucks, not counting cabinets. you really can't beat that.

i'd be inclined to use a different sub, though

Thanks for your replies,

I thought that the intial design seemed really good. The weak part in the design seemed to be the sub. I will definitely get a different sub from what the kit suggests. I have no problem with the fact that I have to make the cabinets. The plans should be enough for me.

I realize that there are problably better systems out there, but this system is in the right price range and i like the idea of building it myself!

I was looking at building a sub for about $300(driver and amp) and then picking an enclosure. Are there any recomendations??

BD

BD, I am building this kit right now (from scratch). I have already finished the mains and the surrounds, and I am working on the CC. I am not building the sub.