adding preamp outputs to Sanyo Plus 55

Disabled Account
Joined 2011
I am thinking of adding preouts to my Sanyo Plus 55 receiver. I used to be a licensed repair tech, so I can read a schematic and build from one.

I am not an engineer and would like someone to look at this.

I identified, on the schematic, what I believe are the outputs on the pre section and the inputs on the amp section. Circled in red.

I think this is the input to the amp section:
attachment.php

I think this is the output from the preamp section:
attachment.php

Joined 2011
Use the points labeled A and B for the left and right line outputs, on the power amplifier schematic
on page 36 of the service manual. The ground for each is also located nearby, run a twisted pair
of wires to each RCA line output jack.

Last edited:
Joined 2011
These line outputs would be controlled by the receiver's volume control (and all the other controls),
is that what you want? If not, the outputs would have to be taken from either the existing "tape output"
jacks (which is easy), or else from a point in the circuit just before the balance and volume controls.

Last edited:
Disabled Account
Joined 2011
These line outputs would be controlled by the receiver's volume control (and all the other controls),
is that what you want? If not, the outputs would have to be taken from either the existing "tape output"
jacks (which is easy), or else from a point in the circuit just before the balance and volume controls.

Yes, I plan to use the Sanyo as a preamp to a power amp. The tape output is just a line out with no control.

Disabled Account
Joined 2011
Ok, then the points A and B are what you want. Bear in mind that the signal will still be driving the
internal power amplifier unless (for example) the input coupling capacitors C701/C801 are removed.