• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Aikido cathode resistors

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I'm just beginning the process of planning an Aikido line stage build utilising the new Rev. E Noval board and PS-21. After a bit of reading, I'm a bit confused as to why most of the circuit examples I've seen use a larger value Rk for the input tubes than for the output tubes, even when they are of the same type. Like this diagram from tubecad.com:

c621mGI.gif

John Broskie also notes the same in the manual when providing typical value suggestions:

l9hkI5o.jpg

Yet, on the previous pages that hold many example values, the R3,4 and R6,7 resistors don't differ for the same B+ setting:

9cI3N56.jpg

HsQo6hF.jpg

I feel like I'm missing something simple, but fundamental. I do recall reading on TubeCAD that JB likes to run one of the stages hotter than the other. Could it just be this preference that's showing through?

I'd appreciate any guidance you could give. I am a bit embarrassed that I have not been able to work this out for myself.

Last edited:
FYI Fully.

I built an Aikido LS from scratch using all 6CG7s @ 300 volts on tag boards and point to point. It sounded nice but too tubey and slow for me. Cut the B+ back to about 160 and changed the output tubes over to 6DJ8s. Better but still a bit too warm and slow. Once I went to 6DJ8s for all tubes did it sound the way I like, not tubey and slow. Quick and detailed. Quite a few tube rolling choices with the 6DJ8 family too.

Steve

The tubes in the first section are biased cooler because it's just a voltage amplifier. The second stage runs higher bias to drive the load with lower distortion.