Dead tweeter in Tannoy Mercury M1

Newbie here. I just picked up a pair of Tannoy Mercury M1's for free. The owner said the woofer was dead on one and I thought it would make a suitable first DIY audio repair. I connected it and the woofer wasn't dead but was sounding like a tweeter. Opened it and sure enough someone had connected the tweeter wires to the woofer and vice versa (maybe when they were adding polyfil to the cabinets). Checked the tweeter with a 1.5 voltage battery and it was definitely dead. I had an old pair of Gennexa (optimus) Pro X7s in the basement with tweeters that looked almost the same (both speakers are 8 ohm though the Gennexa's are 89 db sensitivity and the Tannoys are 87 db). After fashioning a new mounting plate for the tweeter out of fibre board, I connected the tweeter and was pleasantly surprised that I couldn't hear a discernable difference between the two speakers. What I'm wondering though is whether the original tweeter might be salvagable and how difficult/expensive it would be to fix it? Thanks.

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
3596945-383ee2c5-tannoy-mercury-m1-speakers-2211704154.jpg

dave

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
How the tweeter would be fixed if a butterfly could be found, is to remove the plasticbit you still show in the top picture, make sure everything is clean with no debris in the gap — did the voice coil come out with the dome? Then carefully install the butterfly (the plastic bit with a working dome attached), reinstall the face plate and away you go.

dave

I guess somebody mistakenly fitting the woofer signal wires to the tweeter would cause the mess in your view of the tweeter voice coil gap and magnet.

You can see the remnants of one of the tweeter tinsel wires and bits of the voice coil still stuck in the magnet gap I think.