Op Amp blind test: Burson, ADA4627, NE5534

Earlier this month, Mr. @John Burson sent me a private message and asked if I would be interested in reviewing his discrete op amps in my freshly build AD1862 DAC. Of course I would. He was kind enough to promptly send me two V6 Vivid op amps in exchange for photos and review. Thanks John!

Here’s the first part of my write-up.

My background

I have spent a number of years building up projects in hifi and guitar amplification contexts, and while I have a basic level of electronics literacy, I have not yet developed a circuit for myself and thus consider myself a diy builder, not designer. I am a simple hobbyist.

In general here are some of the biases I bring into a comparison (whether these biases are true are false is perhaps a different topic. I realize that they are my biases):

• Circuit design matters more than the grade of individual parts
  • Power supply matters more than the grade of individual parts
  • People that spend lots of time swapping op amps, tubes, and capacitors should sometimes just build or buy a different piece of gear
  • I generally do not believe in burn-in in active devices and am not interested in expensive cabling.
I have run loads of tubes for over a decade. I do think that old RCA’s / GE / Mullard sound better than new JJ’s. But after owning them all, I just run new JJ’s and make circuit adjustments. At this point in my life, that’s the kind of person I am.

I am also running an NOS R2R DAC and a Pass F5 amplifier so clearly I am not immune to audiophile appeal and perhaps desirable distortion.