• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Parafeed choke and transformer values.

I'll keep this simple.
This is a side line topic from my gu81 se amp build.
After a lot of reading on output transformers and also looking up parafeed combinations I'm left rather confused. But this is what I can deduce...

-Plate load choke needs to be like a normal opt transformer so say approx 50-100h. What determines this value?

- the opt transformer remains the same impedance as non parafeed combinations. I'm no engineer and I'm assuming the plate sees the capacitor as a short circuit at audio frequencies, hence the opt remains the same

-coupling capacitor should fall between 3uf-8uf

Now I'm not looking for perfection yet.... Just a working combination/prototype

Tim

Parafeed is also called choke feed - so best to google search on both terms. I know Bottlehead and Patrick Turner's website have designs (Patrick has passed, so his original website has gone but there is a mirror somewhere). You need to be aware of the various LC networks and their impact on design.
Choke feed, ok I'll search that as I've always gone down the parafeed search path. Cheers,
yes Patrick Turner was a amazing source of info. Being one of the "young guys' (nearly 40) I'm often finding out these people have passed away after I discover their webpages/legacy.
Knowing a bit about x over design, helps me with the LC component.
Where I'm at for now is making something work and then gaining an understanding of how/why. There's so many people with plenty of advice based on theory, I'm hunting for real world examples. Patrick Turner was one of the makers and thinkers.
Thanks again