SEAS DXT & CA22RNY huge two way with 8 inch midbass & mini waveguide

I am new with Xsim this week :)

This is my project and i appreciate advice of how i use Xsim and develope a passive filter.

BTW, i have tested this speaker with active crossover (miniDSP HD2x4) and it sound awsome.

1.jpeg

Reactions: 1 users
Hello,

I've worked with a combo CA22RNY Audax TW034 10 years ago for a friend, here was the LP used targeting a LR4 at 2 Khz.
The value of the cap is smaller than the one you use.

BR Pascal

Attachments

• LP-LR4-2Khz-CA22RNY.PNG
    LP-LR4-2Khz-CA22RNY.PNG
    10.1 KB · Views: 441
  • SPL-LP-LR4-2Khz-CA22RNY.PNG
    SPL-LP-LR4-2Khz-CA22RNY.PNG
    21.6 KB · Views: 409
  • CA22RNY-TW034.PNG
    CA22RNY-TW034.PNG
    204.1 KB · Views: 669
When you look at group delay, try down to 20Hz too. Even if the measurement is inaccurate, the group delay caused by the XO will be visible as a diff from the raw response of the driver.
I think it should also work using a flat .frd for the woofer, and only the actual impedance to see the effects in group delay.

Something like that, you can even disable the tweeter, and look only at LF 20-200Hz maybe. However, it seems you did it backwards since it goes negative. Anyway, now you try to add a impedance compensation for the upper resonance peak on the woofer and look what happens with group delay (and frequency response). My guess would be abt 10mH, some hundreds of uF, and abt 8ohms resistance. You can tune it and look at the impedance plot, when the upper peak is gone, and there is only a smooth line, you are done.

You can also watch GD while you do this, if it was a good measurement, you could use it to try and tune the group delay curve as smooth as possible. This last bit is just my own theory, not sure how valid it is. I think sudden changes in group delay is bad too, not just the absolute number.

Please, take this as my experience, not criticism.