• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6F6G PP Amplifier design

Hello!
I am trying to calculate component values for my next amplifier project which schematic I have attached below. The power stage is ok for the moment, I know I can run a B+ of 350Vdc for triode connected 6F6G from the valve datasheet. I would like to use 6N7GT as a LTP phase splitter, as it is accessible to get at a decent cost. I know there is a russian equivalent valve (6N7S) but I have already built some amplifiers based on russian valves and I want this one to be different. The input stage I am thinking that could be one section of 6SL7 triode.

Anyway, the problem I get into, is that I can't find a good loadline for the 6N7GT phase inverter. I am sure that I am missing something as I am not an expert in designing valve schematics. Also, it would be a good thing if somehow would be possible to elevate the cathode of the 6N7GT to around the value of the Ua of the input stage, so I ca have them DC coupled.

Can you please have a look at the schematic and make any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any bit of info.

Regards,
Mircea

Attachments

• image_2024-05-07_181447497.png
    image_2024-05-07_181447497.png
    17.9 KB · Views: 174
KDMAudio,

I like your schematic. But . . .

1. The jumper for Triode mode is not enough to switch from Ultra Linear mode to Triode wired mode.
On your schematic . . .
With the jumper in place, the screen is connected to the plate (and with no screen stopper resistor between the screen and the plate).
And, it also connects 470 Ohms from the primary Ultra Linear tap, to the primary Plate tap (essentially shorting out the signal with only 470 Ohms).