Mixing amplified sources for aviation headsets

Hey guys,

I'll start with a little background. I'm a helicopter pilot by trade and one of my day to day jobs is flying digital surveying flights. Essentially flying a grid pattern over specified areas for up to 8 hours at a time. I adore my job, but there is no doubt it gets a little tedious without some tunes or an audiobook to focus on. Recently I dropped some considerable cash on an in-line Bluetooth adapter for my helmet. However, the audio quality is dismal. Well suited to phone calls, but that's about it.

I've decided to try and build my own Bluetooth receiver. I've been experimenting with an ESP-32 and an I2S DAC acting as the audio source. This is working well. However, I'm a little bit stumped on how to feed my amplified music into my headset without backfeeding the helicopters intercom system.

The basic requirement is theoretically simple I think: I need to overlay my amplified music on top of the amplified signal from the helicopter without cross talk. Additionally The helicopter audio needs to pass through even if my Bluetooth system is not powered.

I'm not entirely sure how to approach this problem.

I figure I have two options: I can mix the two signals, or I can switch between the two signals.

I think mixing is the more technically correct solution. If something goes wrong with my hardware it's less likely to mute the helicopters intercom system. But switching between the amplified sources may be the more robust solution, however it would have to be carefully designed to automatically switch back to the helicopters audio when it detects audio on the intercom or if the Bluetooth battery dies.

Anyway, I'll cut to the point:

I have two amplifiers and one headset. What is the best for me to connect both amplifiers to the single headset without damaging anything? Is it better to switch back and forth, or is it possible to mix both amplified sources? What ICs or circuitry should I be looking at?