multi-driver sub question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have decided to build a narrow footprint sub, either a BR or TL to replace my large cube subs. I am going to use either two 8" or 10" drivers and would like to know what the best placement for them would be. I can either mount both on the front baffle(my last choice), opposite each other (front/back or left/right), or at 90 degrees (either one front/side or one front/bottom firing). This last option is the one I would prefer. Both drivers will be identical so I should be able to wire them in series and just adjust the VAS (2x)while using all the other T/S parameters for just a single driver right? Any help will be much appreciated. Im an industrial designer and not a very good engineer. Thanks Taylor

Not sure about your other questions, but remember that when wiring in series, you're going to have to drive them harder than you probably did with your old subs, since you're going to have an 8-16 ohm load. Can you wire it in parallel? And yes, all that you should have to worry about if driving them in mono is the vas (to the best of my knowledge). I would suggest going with the 10 inch drivers (at least), and not mounting them to the same baffle. You'd be losing a lot of strength, and you'd be increasing the footprint. If your main concern is size, I have some other ideas that you can try (if your not fixated on a TL or BR sub). Subwoofers don't have to be cubes, they can be taller and narrow, or as I prefer, SonoSubs ;)

diyAudio Moderator Emeritus
Joined 2001
If you are going to wire them in parallel, they should be 8 ohm woofers. If each woofer is 4 ohms, you'd better have a very fine amplifier capable of driving 2 ohm loads.