Need help while designing my practice amp

Hello everyone i am just a newbie both for this forum and for DIY electronics. My experience is limited to soldering guitar cables and building one amp for home which I found the diagram from a random website. It was just do whatever you see and do not question things kind of experience.

Normally I build lots of acoustic instruments but this time I want to build something different for myself so i builded multiscale ashbory style bass. It is the first electric instrument that I built. For this little and weird instrument now I want to build a little and weird practice amp.

My main idea is modify the diagram of the model t preamp diagram and turn it into a practice amp. But with my lack of knowledge (maybe ignorance) I could not figure out how I could modify this diagram and build the final product.

The challenges for this project:
The amp will drive the 4ohm 3W exciter,
It should be suitable for bass guitar and
I want to use saturable reactors as a gain component.

Basically i do not know how to set the output for 4ohm 3W. I know I need to select input and output capacitors a little bigger for making it bass guitar friendly but is there anything else that I need to tweek? Last but not least is it a stupid idea to try to create an amp based on a preamp circuit?

I shared the diagram for the Sunn Model T preamp that I want to modify. I will be so glad if someone can help me with this project.

Best Regards

Attachments

• Sunn Model T Preamp V2.png
    Sunn Model T Preamp V2.png
    67.9 KB · Views: 76
  • Sunn Model T Preamp.png
    Sunn Model T Preamp.png
    66.9 KB · Views: 80
Joined 2011
The active devices (tubes, transistors) are restricted in what they can do.
Some are more suitable for a preamp. Some are more suitable for a power amp.
Even the topology itself (how the parts are connected together) can be more suited to a preamp or power amp.

Start with the speaker that you want to use, and its drive requirements.