reduce lens focal lenght?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

A question regarding a factory projector (not a DIY one): is it possible to reduce the focal lenght of projection lens, without any modifications to the projector? I mean adding some lens (like uncut one for making the reading glasses?) in front of the original lens, would it work at all? The goal is to obtain a larger screen from a given distance, I would like to enlarge the projection by about 20%. If so, how to pick the right lens (how to calculate its focal), and what drawback of such a solution one should expect?

Regards
Pawel

I'm not an optics expert by any means, but short throw lenses are not cheap. Some cost as much (if not more) than the projector they are meant to work with - SONY for example.

If you want an affordable "larger" image at a given throw, you might consider the DIY ANAMORPHIC LENS approach. Granted we are expanding the image only in one direction, but it might be possible to use four of the prisms (2 at 90 degrees to the other set) to form a lens that expands both horizontally as well as vertically. Given that your looking for 20% (we can do up to 33%) you might be able to do this with out too much trouble or expense...

Mark

It's certainly possible to reduce the FL of your lens by adding another positive element, but this is likely to upset all the optical corrections designed into the original lens. The resulting quality *may* be good enough for your purposes, but it's unlikely. You will also need to arrange for the lens to object distance to be reduced in order to focus the image.
Why not try it and see?

Why not try - because I don't have this projector. I'm considering Benq W100, but its lens focal is too long (screen too small in my opinion, considering my room size).