Setting limiters on Ultradrive DCX2496 to protect subs

hi all,

am hoping to get some help confirming whether or not my maths is right for setting the limiters on my system to protect the subs. I have a dcx2496 dsp which has inbuilt limiters.

I was planning to run 2x fane colossus 18xb (1000W Rms) in parallel off the xti4000 bridged. this would give me 3200W of power which is way too much. I've been advised strongly elsewhere that i'm better off just running them one on each channel at 650W. but was wondering whether i can make sure the drivers are safe by using limiters so that im still able to take the subs closer to full power?

From what i've managed to work out from research, i've put together some calculations that supposedly would limit the signal reaching the amp to keep the subs safe. That being said i am fairly new to this and still trying to wrap my head around it so they could be way off. any advice would be very appreciated (an an explanation as to why something is wrong!) would really like to understand the maths/physics behind this if possible.

formulas are from these threads:
https://forum.speakerplans.com/output-levels-input-sensitivity-dbu-dbfs-ummmm_topic23486.html?KW=+22dBu
https://forum.speakerplans.com/setting-limiters-on-berry-lms_topic27651_page1.html

so: wanting to limit the output of amp from 3200W to 2000W

1) The ultradrive meters in dBfs with 0dBfs = +22dBu
2) The amplifier in requires 1.4vrms for full output (+5.14dbu)

to work out the dB ratio of these two powers:

10 Log (3200/2000) = 2.041db

then to find limiter setting:

-22 - 2.041 + 5.14 = -18.9dbu

From what i've been able to work out, this would theoretically limit the output to the subs to 2000W regardless of the signal coming into the dcx? if this is completely wrong pls explain why!

would probably set to -20dbu to be safe as apprently can't guarantee 1000W rms is accurate and they're gonna be used for bass music (dub reggae etc.)

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Hi,