Soft clipping power amplifier design: questions

I have found the following design on the 'net:

http://xipix.de/elektro/gimos50.html

It looks interesting, although very unfamiliar to me: it's a soft clipping power amp with, by what I read, low global feedback, current feedback and (therefore) high output impedance. It looks very well suited to guitar duties, although I'm not an expert (I can find my way around preamps and I can also design them, but I'm not familiar with power amps).

I've tried deciphering the schematic, but as I said, a lot is unfamiliar to me: the input stage isn't the common differential pair and kinda looks like an output stage? Also, it employs MOSFETs while most of the things I've read up on employ BJT transistors (there shouldn't be much difference though, MOSFETs are biased similarly to bipolar transistors, with the difference that the gate is basically electrically isolated).

Could you please walk me through it and explain to me if and where it can be improved upon?

low global feedback,
The feedback appears to be the same as the Maplin MOSFET - 33k into 1k.
So this looks perfectly ordinary to me.

If you want to release the output devices from the chains of GNFB, to give IMO a nicer more open sound, I would suggest you make the VAS stage with FETs to get a nice tubey feel, with it's own (fast) NFB loop, and use darlington BJTs as the followers on the output device.

Then the local feedback of the darlingtons provides the gain for the low impedance output.
Then arrange the FETs to gently clip so the BJTs never do.

AFAICT, a CFP style output stage is effectively P-channel on top and therefore open drain so it's running in transconductance mode. The NFB reduces output impedance, but notice there is a DC blocking cap there, so it changes with frequency.

So it looks like it does the job, at first look.

The feedback appears to be the same as the Maplin MOSFET - 33k into 1k.
So this looks perfectly ordinary to me.