Spectrum analyzer input says 0vdc Max, what does this mean exactly?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Take it easy, a beginner here!
For example a HP 8560E SA has a warning label by the input that states 0vdc Max. What exactly is the definition here of 0vdc? Is a 5hz sine wave considered a dc voltage for example? At what frequency is a waveform no longer considered dc? Thanks

The warning means that if you apply DC to the input it will pop your SA's front end, like an AC signal with a DC offset.

Get a DC block and have it permanently attached to the SA input.

A further clarification of the input spec is found in the manual.

When ac coupled,the maximum dc voltage to the RF input is±50 V. When dc coupled, the maximum dc voltage is±0.2 V. Default power-up mode is ac coupled. Itis best to leave the analyzer in ac coupled mode for maximum protection. Exceeding the maximum safe input levels can damage the input attenuator and the input mixer.

5 Hz is below the normal working range of the analyzer, so any readings taken at this frequency will not be accurate, especially in the AC coupled mode.

I don't have an 8560E, I have an 8594E which is a similar, but lower spec analyzer.

If the input attenuation is 10 db or greater the input is connected to an attenuator which has a 50 or 75 ohm input impedance. Any DC applied to the input uses up the dynamic range of the attenuator, and thus reduces the acceptable amount of RF (or other signal) which can be applied. A low level 5 Hz signal will not hurt anything, but I wouldn't connect the analyzer directly across say a subwoofer.