Standardizing crossover components values?

Hello

I'm new to passive crossovers. Forgive me if this is a dumb question.

I found the following old thread : https://www.diyaudio.com/community/...h-order-linkwitz-riley-2-way-at-3-khz.339215/

I am also trying to use a 4th order linkwitz riley crossover(in my case 2.5k), and I found the following values through a calculator.

C1=8.44 µF
C2=16.88 µF
L1=0.16 mH
L2=0.72 mH
C3=25.33 µF
C4=5.63 µF
L3=0.48 mH
L4=0.24 mH

However, I have no idea how to "standardize" them as the thread I found says.
(e.g. changing 8.44uF to 10uF)

As I understand it, the calculator multiplies cratio and lratio by a certain value, and it seems that increasing or decreasing these ratios by the same percentage will result in a completely different filter.
Can anyone tell me how to "standardize" specifically?

Did quite a research but couldn't find the answer :(

diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2008
Paid Member
LR means Q=0.5

1. How will both components be standard values and equal 0.5 exactly.. that's unlikely? What is the benefit?

2. The filter won't use the same values for different speakers since their impedance and response requirements vary..

Hello

I'm new to passive crossovers. Forgive me if this is a dumb question.

I found the following old thread : https://www.diyaudio.com/community/...h-order-linkwitz-riley-2-way-at-3-khz.339215/

I am also trying to use a 4th order linkwitz riley crossover(in my case 2.5k), and I found the following values through a calculator.

C1=8.44 µF
C2=16.88 µF
L1=0.16 mH
L2=0.72 mH
C3=25.33 µF
C4=5.63 µF
L3=0.48 mH
L4=0.24 mH

However, I have no idea how to "standardize" them as the thread I found says.
(e.g. changing 8.44uF to 10uF)

As I understand it, the calculator multiplies cratio and lratio by a certain value, and it seems that increasing or decreasing these ratios by the same percentage will result in a completely different filter.
Can anyone tell me how to "standardize" specifically?