TraxMaker/Circuitmaker 2000

www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I have been using TraxMaker (part of Circuit Maker 2000) for over 20 yrs. I recently moved across to KiCAD and am getting to grips with that for all new boards moving forward

However, I still have a lot of boards on TraxMaker but have a problem that has recently emerged. Everything works ok except the DRL files are corrupted and are complete garbage. Has anyone else found this problem? I am unable to import the Gerber files into KiCAD PCB because although the tracks and board outlines are all ok, it can’t read the DRL file because it’s corrupted.

(I won’t be designing new boards on TraxMaker).

Reactions: 1 user
Hi,
Is this a continuation of your earlier problem where you needed to use an older MS windows os version?
I have no experience in exactly what you are doing but can offer a couple of suggestions.
I am not sure where your problem lies, is it traxmaker creating erroneous drill files or is it that kicad can’t figure them out?
Maybe it’s the Gerber file viewer issue with kicad. Try a different Gerber viewer. It could be the settings for reading in the excellon drill files like imperial vs metric, sometimes I have issues with the precision or format settings, like 2.4 or 3.4 etc
Are you able to load up any of these designs having problems to jlcpcb to see how they interpret the data?

I don't think your DRL files are corrupted.
I was using EasyPCpro for many years.
Then they came out with a new Gerber version.
The pcb houses couldn't read my files.
That's when I switched over to DipTrace.

Have you tried installing TraxMaker in an older pc that runs Windows XP ?
You should be able to check your DRL files with it.

www.hifisonix.com
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Thanks for the replies guys.

The problem is definitely not in KiCAD because if I open the DRL files in eg Notes or Wordpad, the file is corrupted - it’s all garbage. All the other Traxmsker files are ok.