1960s Transistor Vinyl Player Repair - Ultra 6018B

Hi all,

First time posting here so apologies if I incorrectly post or don't follow standard posting procedure.

I was recommended to post here for advice on a repair I'm working on for a volunteer society.
Bit of background, I'm an electronics engineer by trade so feel free to load technical information on me.

A customer at our volunteer repair society brought in this lovely 1960s transistor vinyl player, with an issue with the sound.
It will play perfectly fine at low volume, not incredible audio quality but manageable. The bass and treble dials adjust the sound accordingly so no issue there.
The issue is that when you raise the volume to be loud enough to listen to at a distance, the output of the speakers seems to saturate and can't generate the full sound.
I've tested the speaker directly with another amplifier and there's no issue there in terms of volume.

My suspicion is that the transistors (AD162 and AD161 in AB configuration) have failed after ~60 years of life.
It's been repaired once before, but I believe they swapped out an electrolytic, diode rectifier and a BJT due to the condition of those on the board and the ugly solder joints they left.

The issue comes to replacing them, as germanium transistors are somewhat pricey to get, and my understanding is that the best way to get a good sound is to make sure the gains for the complementary transistors are more or less equal.
The solution I have reasoned and also found online is to buy ~5 of each NPN and PNP and find the best combination of pairing to find some vintage transistors with a similar gain.
The issue with this is that it's quite expensive to buy a bunch of germaniums! The other solution would be to maybe retrofit the board to use silicons, and change out the bias diode accordingly but I feel like that's a big undertaking.