2-way speaker with an 8 inch?? Your input are more than welcome..

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

First of I can say that I’m a noob. Still I would like to build a 2 way speaker with a 7’’ or 8’’ from the list under. My first criteria, unfortunately, is the budget, but I would like to have a little more bass then a 6 ½’’. That’s why I choose an 8 inch(vented system). I do not need 120dB, but listen to rock, jazz, r&b, even metal sometime and like to crank it sometime. Floor standing
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/dayton/RS225S-8.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/dayton/RS225-8.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/dayton/RS225-4.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/hivi/m8a.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/fountek/fw168.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/silver/w20rc3808.pdf
http://www.solen.ca/pdf/vifa/pl18wo0904.pdf

I would like to keep the crossover simple, of course.
Have a good radiation profile.
The living room is about 15’ per 15’.
Don’t know which tweeter to use. Probably a ring tweeter from Vifa.
Bottom line, 50 to 60$ for the woofer, 30 to 40$ for the tweeter.
Thank you against.

How about an AUDAX HM210C0? See Madisound Speaker Components | Loudspeaker drivers and speaker parts for loudspeaker builders. Use a good tweeter that can be crossed over at 2K or less to avoid beaming.

I have my first DIY speaker system that uses a HM210G0 (paper cone) and a SEAS 25TAC/D chambered tweeter that is XO @ 1800, second order passive. It rocks! Ported box and lots of good low bass. The SEAS tweeter is/was cheap and could handle the low XO frequency. Both drivers are no longer available since this was designed/built 5 years ago. Any way, my goal was for more bass than a JBL 6.5 2-way I usually used. Mission accomplished with the Audax. Nice drivers but no longer cheap. Mine cost 56.00 back then. Audax has almost left the DIY scene with only a few drivers available.