LM1036 vs TDA1524 vs Other

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hiya guys! My first post on DIYAUDIO.

I am wanting to build a tone control. The chip solutions sure look easy, and based upon their data sheets, they look like awesome performers. My intuition would make me think a discrete design would be better, but I'm not sure if my construction abilities could produce a noise free discrete circuit. I think it's time for some facts and info.

First off, since I am a noob, could you point me at FAQs for perfboard layout/wiring/construction do's and don'ts. I do know about star/single point grounding rules.

- So, which chip is better (if "better" can be applied to these chips ;) ) ?
- Can I get away with the circuits published in the data sheets?
- I saw a kit built around the TDA1524 for ~$25: http://www.electronickits.com/kit/complete/ampl/k100.pdf
I don' think I could build it for that cost on my own. Is this a viable option?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys !!!

Greetings

Wow I thought I was the only one using the LM1036 with DC volume and tone controls for creating my preamps. It's good to know that there is still an interest in this little capable IC.

I have been using this preamp IC in many of my homebrew amplifiers and most recently in modding certain boomboxes. My most recent mod was the Memorex MX3851 boombox, which some of you may still see on your Wal-Mart shelves. I'm sure some of you are Googling this model now and saying to yourselves "Ewwww that cheap junky thing??" Lol. Let's just say I like challenges.