Help please with my poorly Stasis 2

Hi Gents.
Recently bought this Stasis 2 as faulty ( the only way I could ever afford one )
Symptoms were : slowly over time was brought up to 240v using a variac , then used for a week until smoke was seen and then the left channel went down.
I’m no engineer but I can replace parts so I’m hoping someone can steer me in the right direction.
Any idea which component(s) have failed and caused the burn ? ( see photo also )

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_5108.jpeg
IMG_5114.jpeg
IMG_5114.jpeg

Joined 2014
Paid Member
I would start by looking for a schematic and posting it here. Then I would clean the bulk of that smoke residue off of the board to try to decipher where it originated. Could be the 25/470 cap, could be a resistor.

To clean the board, you can use a Q tip and isopropyl alcohol. Also, make sure it is unplugged and confirm that the voltage has left the caps in the power supply.

How was the amp considered faulty when you purchased it?

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Joined 2014
Paid Member
Interesting. I suppose it is time to start idendifying the culprits.

The second channel looks as though it had never been repaired before. It looks like this resistor was pulling some serious current:
1706813224854.png

The first channel you posted looks to have been repaired after a part had blown:

1706813335857.png

The solder joints look to be shiney and new'er' on the first channel:

1706813421956.png

so the first channel may work. You can get a dim bulb tester or a variac and try to bring that channel up by itself slowly. The first thing that I would do is to start identifying the componants in the circuit and where they are. These old boards do not have a silkscreen which makes things a bit more difficult.