Musiland 01US USB DAC I2S into Sabre

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
glt,
maybe we should keep the technical stuff to this thread as it's easier for me to post pics & the audience on headfi aren't that interested in DIY, I feel?

You raised a question about the Musiland outputting only 88.2Khz or 96KHz clocks over I2S no matter what the original sample rate of the audio file being played!. I did some scope shots of the I2S MCLK (system clock) line that feeds my ES9022 DAC. People will have to help me interpret these pics as I'm a newbie with a scope.

So what I did was put the red probe on the MCLK line & the Green probe on ground. The Y axis was set at 2V/Div & X axis at 20ns/div.

So here'e the shots:
- first one is with nothing playing - I make peak to through about 5 divs & so peak to peak just > 10 divs = 220nS = 44.1KHz?
- next is 44.1KHz file playing - does this look a bad shape? I don't have any R in series with the signal lines - again just > 10 divs = 220ns = 44.1KHz
- next is 88KHz - peak to peak slightly > 4 divisions = >80nS = ?KHz

This has me confused

continued on next post

Attachments

• nothing playing.JPG
    nothing playing.JPG
    429.5 KB · Views: 691
  • 44KHz.JPG
    44KHz.JPG
    400.6 KB · Views: 663
  • 88KHz.JPG
    88KHz.JPG
    385.1 KB · Views: 636
Last edited:
- next pic is 96KHz - peak to peak 4 divs = 80nS = ?
- next pic 176KHz - just > 1 divs = >20ns
- next 192KHz - about Div/3 = about 7ns

Is there something odd going on here or is it my understanding that's off?

Attachments

• 96KHz.JPG
    96KHz.JPG
    379.8 KB · Views: 599
  • 176KHz.JPG
    176KHz.JPG
    481.6 KB · Views: 566
  • 192KHz.JPG
    192KHz.JPG
    433.8 KB · Views: 92
For 44.1:

If you have a period of 220nsec, Frequency is 1/200nsec = 0.0045X10^9 or 4.5MHz. Assuming 24 bit data, two channels is 48 bit, data rate is 4.5/48=93750 Hz or 96K